Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!




January 23 - 25 2015, 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM


February 07 - 08 2015, 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

ASA Certificate in Business Administration 2015

June 26 - 28 2015, 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Annual Perioperative Surgical Home Summit



December 18, 2014

0.9 Percent Sodium Chloride Injection USP in 100 mL MINI-BAG PLUS Container by Baxter: Recall - Particulate Matter


FDA MedWatch Recall - Particulate Matter

November 21, 2014

FDA MedWatch - Respironics California, Esprit V1000 and V200 Ventilators: Class I Recall - Power Failure May Occur


FDA MedWatch Respironics California Esprit V1000 and V200 Ventilators Class I Recall

November 21, 2014

FDA MedWatch - Highly Concentrated Potassium Chloride Injection, 10 mEq per 100 mL by Baxter: Recall - Mislabeled


Highly Concentrated Potassium Chloride Injection 10 mEq per 100 mL by Baxter Recall Mislabeled



Add this product to your shopping cart

Self-Education and Evaluation (SEE) Program

SKU: 30701-14CE

... Read more »

Single Copies, Member Price: $360

DEA Schedules Fospropofol as Schedule IV Drug

Chicago — (October 6, 2009) 

The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) issued its final rule for the scheduling of fospropofol, which is effective November 5, 2009. In the final rule, the DEA placed fospropofol into schedule IV of the Controlled Substances Act, which means that the regulatory controls and criminal sanctions of Schedule IV will be applicable to the manufacture, distribution, dispensing, importation, and exportation of fospropofol and products containing fospropofol. Such scheduling will allow fospropofol to remain readily available for use by responsible clinicians in urgent and emergent situations, but will require that it be reasonably stored in a restricted and secure environment with access limited to qualified clinicians.

The ASA applauds this effort by the DEA and has fully supported the scheduling of fospropofol as a Schedule IV controlled substance. The DEA acknowledged the comments from ASA in its final rule stating that ASA “is in agreement with the findings of scientific and medical evaluation that formed the basis for the present rule controlling fospropofol as a schedule IV substant and [ASA] fully supported this control action.”


Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 52,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care every patient deserves.

For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at . To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit Like ASA on Facebook , follow ASALifeline on Twitter and follow ASA on LinkedIn .



American Society of Anesthesiologists