Patrick Sim Forum on the History of Anesthesiology

SPE17 Patrick Sim Forum: An Afternoon With the WLM Laureates of the History of Anesthesia
Monday, October 13, 2014, 2 – 4 p.m.
Lead speaker: David B. Waisel, M.D.

The most prestigious award that the WLM bestows is the Laureate of the History of Anesthesia, which is awarded every four years to an outstanding scholar and contributor in the field. To date, six Laureates have been awarded. We are most fortunate to have two of the most prominent historians of anesthesia, the 2008 Laureate, David J. Wilkinson, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.A., and the 2012 Laureate, Douglas R. Bacon, M.D., M.A., join us for an intimate conversation. Through in-depth discussion sparked by moderator and audience questions, we will explore the arcs of their careers, their motivation to study anesthesia history, their best and worst moments, and the advice they would give to aspiring historians. We will discuss prominent historical controversies, fertile areas of research, and why the study of anesthesia history is important. This forum is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to visit with these leading historians.