August 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 8
ASA News

Candidates Announce for Elected Office

Since the announcement was made in the April NEWSLETTER, 11 ASA members have declared their candidacies for elected offices. In August, the Candidates’ Forum page will be added to the ASA website. It will be available at

A member’s announcement of candidacy does not constitute a formal nomination to an office, nor is it a prerequisite for being nominated. Formal nominations are made from the floor of the House of Delegates at the first session, as prescribed by the ASA Bylaws (section Those anesthesiologists who have declared they are seeking office are:

President Elect

John P. Abenstein, M.D.

First Vice President

Daniel J. Cole, M.D.

Vice President for Professional Affairs

Stanley W. Stead, M.D.Erin A. Sullivan, M.D.

Vice President for Scientific Affairs

Beverly K. Philip, M.D.


Linda J. Mason, M.D.


James D. Grant, M.D.

Assistant Secretary

Jeffrey Plagenhoef, M.D.

Assistant Treasurer

Mary Dale Peterson, M.D.

Speaker, House of Delegates

Steven L. Sween, M.D.

Vice Speaker, House of Delegates

Ronald L. Harter, M.D.

Residents’ Research Winners Honored

Paul R. Knight, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, ASA Committee on Research, has announced that the committee will award prizes for the following three entries in the 2013 ASA Residents’ Research Essay Contest:

First Prize

Michael A. Kopec, M.D., Washington University, St. Louis, for “NT-proBNP Improves the Ability of High-Sensitivity Cardiac Troponin T to Predict Myocardial Injury and Infarction and Long-Term Mortality After Non-Cardiac Surgery.”

Second Prize

Alexander F. Bautista, M.D., University of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky, for “Early Severity Assessment and Mortality Prediction in Neurologically Compromised ICU Patients: A Nomogram to Guide Accelerated Care in the Elderly.”

Third Prize

Devon C. Cole, M.D., Shands, University of Florida, Gainesville, for “Workspace Infection Sources to Stymie and Methods to Mitigate: The Hand Sanitizer and ER Keyboard – A Pilot Study With Broad Implications.”

Winners receive a plaque and cash award to acknowledge their achievements.

The first-place winner will present a five-minute presentation during the Celebration of Research on Monday, October 14 at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, as well as each individual presentation scheduled during the ANESTHESIOLOGYTM 2013 annual meeting.