Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!


About ASA

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.


Information for Authors



Published monthly, the NEWSLETTER contains up-to-date information on Society activities and other areas of interest. 

Subscribe to the ASA NEWSLETTER



N. Martin Giesecke, M.D., Chair



Send general NEWSLETTER questions to

December 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 12
Nominations Sought for 2014 ASA Presidential Scholar Award James C. Eisenach, M.D., Editor -in-Chief

The ASA Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.


The deadline for nominations for the 2014 Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2014. Anesthesiologists who are within 10 years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are board-certified in their country of practice, ASA members and clinically active in anesthesia, intensive care or pain medicine are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair or by the Committee on Research after review of the current year’s grant applicants of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. The nominee’s department chair should submit a letter of support and the nominee’s current curriculum vitae as well as one seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.


The recipient of the 2013 Presidential Scholar Award was Sachin Kheterpal, M.D., M.B.A, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan, Department of Anesthesiology, Ann Arbor, Michigan, who received the award at the ANESTHESIOLOGY™ 2013 annual meeting in San Francisco on Monday, October 14, 2013.


Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC, 27157; e-mail:


Previous Article / Next Article