Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!


About ASA

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.


Information for Authors



Published monthly, the NEWSLETTER contains up-to-date information on Society activities and other areas of interest. 

Subscribe to the ASA NEWSLETTER



N. Martin Giesecke, M.D., Chair



Send general NEWSLETTER questions to

February 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 2
Nominations Sought for 2013 FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research Award James R. Zaidan, M.D., M.B.A., Chair FAER Board of Directors

FAER is accepting nominations for the 2013 FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research Award. The award recognizes an outstanding mentor in anesthesiology and the value of mentorship in the specialty. Each year, the FAER Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology presents the award at the ASA annual meeting during the Celebration of Research.

The nomination deadline for the FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research Award is March 31, 2013.

Anesthesiologists who are actively engaged in anesthesiology mentorship and have a sustained record of mentoring anesthesiologists over time are eligible for the award. The award is based on the training experiences and successes of the nominee’s mentees, not on the mentor’s personal career achievements.

Anyone who is a mentee or a colleague of a successful anesthesiology mentor may submit a nomination. Nominators must have personal knowledge of the nominee’s mentoring efforts. Mentees should be actively involved in research, teaching, mentoring or other leadership activities.

The recipient of the 2012 FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research award was Roderic G. Eckenhoff, M.D., Austin Lamont Professor of Anesthesia, University of Pennyslvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (photo above).

Please submit a nomination form, three letters of recommendation, the nominee’s curriculum vitae and a completed mentor table. Nomination forms and more information about the nomination process are available at

If you have questions about award nominations, contact Mary Schrandt, Associate Director, at (507) 538-7883 or

James R. Zaidan, M.D., M.B.A. is Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia.

Next Article / Previous Article