Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!


About ASA

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.


Information for Authors



Published monthly, the NEWSLETTER contains up-to-date information on Society activities and other areas of interest. 

Subscribe to the ASA NEWSLETTER



N. Martin Giesecke, M.D., Chair



Send general NEWSLETTER questions to

January 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 1
APSF/ASA Announce Endowed Research Awards Robert K. Stoelting, M.D., President Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) is pleased to announce the 2013 APSF/ASA Endowed Research Award and the APSF/ASA President’s Research Award. These awards were announced at the annual meeting of the APSF Board of Directors in October 2012 for initiation in January 2013. APSF/ASA named grants are funded up to a maximum of $150,000 per grant.

The recipient of the 2013 APSF/ASA Endowed Research Award was Leanne Groban, M.D., Wake Forest School of Medicine, for a study titled “Does Preoperative Assessment of Nutritional Status, Mobility and Frailty Among Geriatric Patients Predict Early Postoperative Morbid Events?”

The recipient of the 2013 APSF/ASA President’s Award was Noa Segall, Ph.D., Duke University Medical Center, for a study titled “Forgetting to Remember: Prospective Memory Error as an Unexplored Patient Safety Risk.”

Funding of these named APSF/ASA grants is made possible by continued generous contributions from ASA to APSF. For more information on these named research awards, please visit

Robert K. Stoelting, M.D. is President, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.

Next Article / Previous Article