Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!


About ASA

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.


Information for Authors



Published monthly, the NEWSLETTER contains up-to-date information on Society activities and other areas of interest. 

Subscribe to the ASA NEWSLETTER



N. Martin Giesecke, M.D., Chair



Send general NEWSLETTER questions to

May 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 5
Committee News: Developing Future Leaders Through Mentoring Elizabeth Rebello, M.D., Director Mentoring Program

Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, M.D., ASA Assistant Secretary

Jerome Adams, M.D., M.P.H., Chair Committee on Professional Diversity

“Mentor: someone whose hindsight can become your foresight.”
– Anonymous

The ASA Committee on Professional Diversity announces its annual call for proposals for the ASA Mentoring Program. The goal of the program is to foster diversity within ASA through mentorship. The program provides funding up to $5,000 to mentor/mentee pairs who submit a project to further their interest. The project may be oriented to scientific or clinical research, or an educational, political or organizational endeavor such as shadowing an ASA leader at the PRACTICE MANAGEMENT or Legislative conferences.

2013 Award Recipients (mentor/mentee):
1. Brian Sites, M.D./Mona Kotecha, M.D.
Institution: Dartmouth University
2. Debra Elayne Morrison M.D., Shermeen B. Vakharia, M.D., M.B.A., Trung Q Vu, M.D., M.S./Chinsui (Jody) Chou, M.D.
Institution: University of California, Irvine
3. Deepak Sharma M.B.B.S., M.D, D.M./ Nelson Nicolás Algarra, M.D.
Institutions: University of Washington-Seattle/ University of Kansas
4. Barbara Brandom, M.D./Lena Mayes, M.D.
Institution: Children’s Hospital of Pittsburg/University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
5. Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H./ Joel Musee, M.D, Ph.D
Institution: Vanderbilt University
6. Paloma Toledo, M.D., Edward Yaghmour, M.D./ Matthew Chia, MS-III
Institution: Northwestern University
7. Anna Varughese, M.D., M.P.H./ Rajeev Subramanyam, M.D.
Institution: Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
8. Alex Macario, M.D., M.B.A./ Natacha Telusca, M.D., M.P.H.
Institution: Stanford University School of Medicine

The aim of this endeavor is to enhance the professional career, leadership potential and active involvement of the mentee within ASA. Award recipients are encouraged to actively participate in their state societies and apply for an appropriate ASA committee. They will present their project/experience to the Committee on Professional Diversity and are encouraged to submit projects for presentation as an abstract at the ASA annual meeting. Mentor-mentee pairs will be recognized at the Committee on Professional Diversity meeting at the ANESTHESIOLOGY™ 2013 annual meeting.

The matched mentee/mentor pair should submit an application form, their individual curriculum vitae, and a one to two-page description of their project to the ASA Committee on Professional Diversity no later than June 30, 2013. The submission should include the following:

1.  A detailed description of the project’s objective, along with an explanation of how it will enhance the professional growth and leadership potential of the mentee.
2.  A designation of the length of time, required equipment/supplies, travel, meetings and requested funding; also include co-funding provided by the home institution of record in support of the project chosen by the mentee/mentor, if any.
3. Potential barriers and success factors. Mentors should be well-established clinicians, educators and researchers, and current ASA leaders who have a particular interest in and passion for mentoring a rising medical student, anesthesia resident/fellow, junior faculty member or new graduate in private practice. The mentor will voluntarily provide time, one-on-one guidance, direction, advice and counsel to the mentee on a project mutually agreed upon by the mentor and mentee. The one- to three-year project must have the goal of enhancing the professional career, leadership potential and active involvement of the mentee within ASA. The mentor may either select his/her own mentee or may request assistance from the ASA Committee on Professional Diversity. Mentees should represent diverse racial, ethnic or gender backgrounds voluntarily interested in gaining experience in leadership and exposure to research, education, politics and/or organized medicine within the specialty of anesthesiology. Mentees may be voluntarily selected or referred by ASA members and may include medical students, anesthesia residents/fellows, junior faculty members or new graduates in private practice. In addition to working on their chosen project and maintaining regular interaction with their mentors, mentees are expected to:

A. Join their state component society and attend at least one local meeting annually; volunteering for active involvement within component activities is strongly encouraged.
B. Self-nominate for at least one ASA or subspecialty society committee and actively participate if selected.
C. Submit an educational, clinical or research project/poster at the ASA annual meeting within 12 months of funding approval.
D. Attend ASA annual meetings during the funding period.
E. Along with their mentor, briefly present their project at the annual ASA Committee on Professional Diversity meeting.

The application form can be found at For-Members/ASA-Mentoring-Award-Program.aspx. Completed materials should be submitted to The committee will review all submissions and notify the matched pairs of potential funding status and support of the project by August 31, 2013. Funds will be distributed after the ANESTHESIOLOGY™ 2013 annual meeting. A one-page written update of the progress of the project will be due June 30, 2014.

Elizabeth Rebello, M.D. is Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston.

Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, M.D. is President, Anesthesia Consultants Medical Group, Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Dothan, Alabama.

Jerome Adams, M.D., M.P.H. is Assistant Professor of Anesthesia, Indiana University School of Medicine, and Chair, Wishard Hospital Pharmacy and Therapeutics, Indianapolis.

Next Article / Previous Article