Notice: Get a jump on 2015 — Pay your 2015 ASA membership dues now!


About ASA

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.


Information for Authors



Published monthly, the NEWSLETTER contains up-to-date information on Society activities and other areas of interest. 

Subscribe to the ASA NEWSLETTER



N. Martin Giesecke, M.D., Chair



Send general NEWSLETTER questions to

May 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 5
FAER Report: ASA Members Make FAER Programs Possible Denham S. Ward, M.D., Ph.D., President and CEO Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research

Thank you. Your support of FAER advances the medical specialty of anesthesiology and positively impacts the careers of individuals who will improve patient care and safety, and who will find solutions to current issues. The early career funding that FAER is able to provide because of your generosity not only influences individual careers but also changes the future of anesthesiology for the better.

You make it possible. The success of the people who participate in FAER’s programs and receive our grant funding would not be possible without the support of ASA and its members, and the entire anesthesiology community.

Last year, in order to support more than 130 anesthesiologists, residents and medical students, FAER committed $1.875 million to funding research grants and more than $300,000 to programs. These numbers show the investment we make each year in research and education, and the highlights from 2012 below help illustrate the outcomes.

  • Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship Program: Fifty-eight medical students participated in the 2012 MSARF program, which encourages students to enter careers in anesthesiology by facilitating summer research experiences at anesthesiology departments across the country.
  • FAER Resident Scholar Program: The Resident Scholar Program encourages anesthesiology residents to pursue careers in research and academic anesthesiology through the perspective of the ASA annual meeting. Last year, approximately 60 residents participated in the program.
  • Research Fellowship Grant: The RFG is a one-year, $75,000 award that provides significant training in research techniques and scientific methods to anesthesiology residents and fellows. In 2012, four anesthesiologists received RFGs.
  • Mentored Research Training Grant: Basic Science, or Clinical and Translational: The MRTG is a two-year, $175,000 award that helps anesthesiologists develop the skills and preliminary data needed to become independent investigators. In 2012, five anesthesiologists received MRTGs.
  • Research in Education Grant: The REG is a two-year, $100,000 award that aims to advance the careers and knowledge of anesthesiologists interested in researching the concepts, methods and techniques of education in anesthesiology. In 2012, seven anesthesiologists received REGs.

  • FAER has also invested in several important programs so far in 2013. For the second year, we supported a panel on translational medical research, innovation and entrepreneurship at the Society for Technology in Anesthesia annual meeting. And also for a second year, FAER partnered with the ASA Committee on Practice Management to provide awards for the best research posters presented at Practice Management 2013.

    Our 2013 research grant funding cycle is under way and includes a pilot mentored grant in health care services research, for which we are partnering with the Anesthesia Quality Institute. We will announce FAER’s 2013 research grant recipients in an upcoming issue of the ASA NEWSLETTER.

    Because of your support and the support from ASA, FAER can continue to provide funding to promising anesthesiologists who will advance medicine through research in anesthesiology. Thank you for investing in the future of our specialty.

    Denham S. Ward, M.D., Ph.D. is Emeritus Professor of Anesthesiology and Biomedical Engineering, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York, and President and CEO, Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research.

    Next Article / Previous Article