Distinguished Service Award - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

Honorary Member Award

The Honorary Member Award celebrates a physician, a scientist or other individual not otherwise eligible for Active ASA membership in the Society who has attained outstanding eminence in anesthesiology or related fields.

The House of Delegates has established policies governing the selection of a recipient. Procedures for the submission of nominations and selection of a candidate are as follows:

  • Any member of ASA may submit the names of individuals for consideration for this award.
  • Should the Committee on Distinguished Service Award select a candidate to enter into nomination in the House of Delegates, the name of the candidate shall not be disclosed until placed in nomination before the House of Delegates.
  • Final selection of the recipient shall be made by the House of Delegates by secret ballot and shall require a two-thirds vote of those seated in the House of Delegates.

Nomination forms, together with current curriculum vitae, are requested to be received by the Governance Department in the Executive Office by May 15 each year.  

They may be submitted to the attention of the committee chair. Please direct all nominations and questions to governance@asahq.org.

2017  Philip Devereaux, M.D., Ph.D.
2012  Alan Merry, M.D.
2010  Patrick Pui-Kam Sim, M.L.S.

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More