Congress - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

This page serves as a resource for important information on the current composition, leadership, and committees in the 115th Congress (2017-2018).

U.S. Senate:

52 Republicans, 48 Democrats, 2 Independents, who caucus with Democrats


Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Majority Whip John Cornyn (R-TX)

Minority Leader Charles Schumer (D-NY)

Minority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Key Committees:

    Senate Finance Committee

        Chairman Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Ranking Member Ron Wyden (D-OR)

    Senate Veterans Affairs Committee

        Chairman Johnny Isakson (R-UT)

Ranking Member Jon Tester (D-MT)

U.S. House of Representatives:

241 Republicans, 193 Democrats, 1 vacancy


    Speaker of the House Paul Ryan (R-WI)

    Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)

    Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

    Minority Whip Steny Hoyer (D-MD)

Key Committees:

    House Ways and Means Committee

        Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX-08)

Ranking Member Richard Neal (D-MA-01)

    House Energy and Commerce Committee

        Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR-02)

Ranking Member Frank Pallone (D-NJ-06)

    House Veterans Affairs Committee

Chairman Phil Roe, M.D. (R-TN-01)

Ranking Member Tim Walz (D-MN-01)

Physicians in Congress:

Rep. Andy Harris, M.D. (R-MD-01) - First physician anesthesiologist elected to Congress

Rep. Ralph Abraham, M.D. (R-LA-05)

Sen. John Barrasso, M.D. (R-WY)

Rep. Ami Bera, M.D. (D-CA-07)

Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-IN-8)

Rep. Michael Burgess, M.D. (R-TX-26)

Sen. Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA)

Rep. Scott Desjarlais, M.D. (R-TN-04)

Rep. Neal Dunn, M.D. (R-FL-02)

Rep. Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS-01)

Sen. Rand Paul, M.D. (R-KY)

Rep. David "Phil" Roe, M.D. (R-TN-01)

Rep. Raul Ruiz, M.D. (D-CA-36)


Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More