FAER Committees are composed of dedicated volunteer members who are anesthesiologists and other professionals who are committed to advancing innovation and scientific discovery in our specialty.

Development Committee

FAER is working to ensure that research and innovation remain the bedrock foundation of our specialty. We are pursuing many research and education funding opportunities. Our Development Committee is the leader in these efforts. The volunteer members of the FAER Development Committee join members of the FAER Board to share ideas and advocate for the Foundation to their peers.

Steven Shafer, M.D.
Stanford University Medical Center
Richard P. Dutton, M.D., M.B.A., FASA
U.S. Anesthesia Partners

Pamela Flood, M.D.
Stanford University Medical Center

Julie K. Freed, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin

Simon Gelman, M.D., Ph.D.
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Chris Godlewski, M.D.
The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Eric Heinz, M.D., Ph.D.
George Washington University

Muhammad Salman Janjua, MBBS
Augusta University

Sapna R. Kudchadkar, M.D., Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University

Robert Maniker, M.D. 
Columbia University
Linda J. Mason, M.D., FASA 
Loma Linda University

Austin Peters, M.D.
Oregon Health and Sciences University

Alan D. Sessler, M.D., FACA, FCAI, FRCA
Mayo Clinic
Richard Urman, M.D., M.B.A., FASA
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Megha Vipani
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Nikki Zapol, J.D. 
Partners Healthcare 


Finance Committee

The FAER Finance Committee is responsible for ensuring FAER maintains a sustainable business model and that success of grants can be quantified. Most importantly, the Finance Committee ensures that FAER can continue providing funding to early investigators for anesthesiology research.

Michael W. Champeau, M.D., FASA
Associated Anesthesiologists Medical Group
Daniel J. Cole, M.D., FASA
UCLA Medical Center
James D. Grant, M.D., M.B.A., FASA
William Beaumont Hospital
Zeev Kain, M.D., MBA
University of California Irvine
Andrew Rosenberg, M.D., FASA
NYU School of Medicine
Paloma Toledo, M.D., M.P.H.
Northwestern University
Board Chair

Grants Management Committee

The FAER Grants Management Committee is responsible for evaluating and recommending incoming grantees for funding.

Dolores Njoku, M.D.
Johns Hopkins University
Harriet Hopf, M.D., FASA
University of Utah
Catherine M. Kuhn, M.D.
Duke University
George A. Mashour, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Michigan
Mervyn Maze, M.B., Ch.B.
University of California San Francisco
Eckehard A. Stuth, M.D. 
Medical College of Wisconsin