Current Leadership and Past Presidents

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) would like to express our gratitude to those who have held key leadership positions throughout the history of our foundation. The guidance, support, and dedication of these exemplary anesthesiologists has proven instrumental in pursuing our mission to develop the next generation of physician-scientists in anesthesiology.

Current Leadership


James C. Eisenach, MD
2016 – Current

Board Chair

Harriet W. Hopf, MD, FASA
2019 – Current


Roger A. Johns, MD, PhD, MHS
2019 – Current

Past Presidents

Joy L. Hawkins, MD, FASA
2015 – 2016

Denham S. Ward, MD, PhD
2011 – 2015

Alan D. Sessler, MD, FACA, FCAI, FRCA
2003 – 2010

Myer H. Rosenthal, MD, FACA
2001 – 2002

Carl C. Hug Jr., MD, PhD, FACA, FANZCA, FRCA
1999 – 2001

Francis M. James III, MD, FACA
1996 – 1998

William D. Owens, MD, FACA, FASA

Patricia A. Kapur, MD

Donald R. Stanski, MD, FRCPC

Alan D. Sessler, MD, FACA, FCAI, FRCA
1990 – 1992

William K. Hamilton, MD, FANZCA, FRCA
1986 – 1989