Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) Announces New Board Leadership Following ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2019

December 2, 2019

ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2019 marked the conclusion of multiple members’ terms on FAER’s Board of Directors, including Board Chair Paloma Toledo, M.D., M.P.H., of Northwestern University. We would like to sincerely thank Dr. Toledo for her service and leadership. As chair, Dr. Toledo lead the FAER Board to increase the funding amount of the MRTG award as well as creating a self-standing meeting of the MRTG recipients.

With Dr. Toledo’s term as Chair now complete, FAER welcomes our new Board Chair, Harriet Hopf, M.D., FASA. A member of FAER’s Board since 2013, Dr. Hopf is a professor at the University of Utah as well as Co-Chair of their Perioperative Infection Control Committee. Working with FAER, she serves as an integral point-person and leader of our Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship (MSARF). Dr. Hopf is also a longtime champion for women and diversity in anesthesiology.

“I am honored and excited to assume the position of Chair of FAER’s Board of Directors,” said Harriet Hopf, M.D., FASA. “The work FAER does to support early-career physician-scientists in anesthesiology is vital to our specialty. I look forward to guiding the efforts of the exceptional FAER Board and staff as we continue this important work in the years to come.”

We too look forward to working with Dr. Hopf as our new Board Chair.

Following ANESTHESIOLOGY 2019, the terms of Board members Catherine M. Kuhn, M.D., of Duke University; George Mashour, M.D., Ph.D., of University of Michigan; and Mervyn Maze, M.B., CH.B., of University of California, San Francisco, also concluded. Both Drs. Kuhn and Maze served on the FAER Board for close to a decade, their terms beginning in 2010. They acted as members of the Programs Committee and Grants Management Committee respectively. Dr. Mashour’s time on the FAER Board saw him assume a leadership position in the Grants Management Committee. We thank Drs. Kuhn, Mashour and Maze for their work on behalf of FAER.

Finally, please join FAER in welcoming two new members to our Board of Directors, Charles Emala, M.D., of Columbia University; and Roderic Eckenhoff, M.D., of University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Emala was the winner of the 2018 Mentoring Excellence in Research Award and Dr. Eckenhoff presented the prestigious FAER-Helrich Research Lecture at ANESTHESIOLOGY 2019. Both are model anesthesia researchers and FAER is excited for them to join the Board.

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) is a related organization of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. For over 30 years, FAER has been dedicated to developing the next generation of physician-scientists in anesthesiology. Charitable contributions and support to FAER help fuel the future of anesthesiology through scientific discovery. Funding priorities include: Research, Education, and Training. FAER has awarded over $43 million in research grants and programs since 1986. To donate to FAER, visit FAER.org/donate.