Research Mentor Academy

The FAER Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology facilitates the development of educational and research programs for junior faculty members, and it supports faculty members in mentoring roles. The Research Mentor Academy is a resource for the development of mentors and role models in academic anesthesia.

Academy members include academic anesthesiologists and others who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the development of physician scientists in anesthesia. The academy is led by a council, elected by the academy membership. Current councilors include:

President: Max B. Kelz, MD, PhD
President-Elect: Monica Vavilala, MD
Past President: Lee Fleisher, MD
Councilors: Pamela Flood, MD
Jeffrey Kirsch, MD
Zhiyi Zou, MD, PhD

View the full member list

Current Activities

Workshop at the ANESTHESIOLOGY® Annual Meeting
The FAER Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology hosts a workshop at the ANESTHESIOLOGY annual meeting. Academy members and leaders in anesthesia research participate. Topics range from how to find a mentor to how to apply for federal funding and more.

FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research Award
The FAER Mentoring Excellence in Research Award recognizes the value of outstanding mentors in anesthesiology. Each year, the Research Mentor Academy presents the award at the ANESTHESIOLOGY annual meeting during the Celebration of Research. Learn more about the Mentoring Excellence in Research Award.


Mentored Research Training Grants Tips for Success (2014 workshop)

Outlook for Anesthesiology Research Funding (2012 presentation)

Info for Members

Nomination Process


Contact the FAER office at 630-912-2554.