



9700 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Suite 200 phone 847/737,6000 Rosemont, Illinois 60018 www.aapmr.org

fax 847/754,4368 info@aapmr.org

September 14, 2017

President Steve Geiringer, MD President-Elect Darryl L. Kaelin, MD Vice-President Peter C. Esselman, MD

Secretary Jonathan Finnoff, DO

Michelle S. Gittler, MD Past President

Gregory M. Worsowicz, MD, MBA

Members-at-Large D. J. Kennedy, MD Robert J. Rinaldi, MD Charlotte H. Smith, MD Deborah A. Venesy, MD Strategic Coordinating

Committee Chairs Medical Education Steven R. Flanagan, MD Membership Committee

Michael Saffir, MD

Quality, Practice, Policy & Research Scott R. Laker, MD

Ex-Officio Liaisons to Board of Governors PM&R, Editor in Chief Stuart M. Weinstein, MD

Liaison, Physiatrist in Training Council G. Sunny Sharma, MD Executive Director and

Chief Executive Officer Thomas E. Stautzenbach, MA, MBA, CAE Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, M.D. 1061 American Lane Schaumburg, IL 60173-4973

Dear Dr. Plagenhoef:

Thank you for inviting the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) to endorse the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Perioperative Surgical Home (PSH). Members of the Academy's Board of Governors are impressed with the results the PSH model has had to date on improving patient care and lowering costs in a variety of healthcare settings. As such, I am pleased to inform you that the Board voted this past weekend to endorse the PSH, and we look forward to working with you on this promising initiative.

We understand that we also have the opportunity to join the PSH Learning Collaborative Steering Committee, and we are excited to participate. We are in the process of identifying two AAPM&R representatives for the Steering Committee and will be in touch with your staff as soon as possible to provide their names and contact information.

It is my hope that this new endeavor will lead to a strong partnership between the AAPM&R and the ASA and will also be a catalyst for creating productive relationships between anesthesiologists and physiatrists across the country as they strive to provide optimal patient care. Thank you again for this opportunity.

Sincerely,

Steve Geiringer, MD President

CC: Paul Pomerantz, ASA Chief Executive Officer Roseanne Fischoff, PSH Executive

Tom Stautzenbach, CAE, AAPM&R Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer