July 1, 2013 Volume 77, Number 7

Call for Nominations for ASA Resident Component Governing Council
It is time to make a call for candidates for the ASA Resident Component Governing Council. Positions to be selected by the Resident Component House of Delegates on Sunday, October 13, 2013, include: President-Elect, Secretary, AMA Alternate Delegate, and Junior Co-Editor. Any resident with 18 months or more left in residency or fellowship is eligible to run for office. Of note, the President-Elect, AMA Alternate Delegate, and Junior Co-Editor are two-year positions; this allows for one year of working closely with the senior officer before assuming full responsibilities. The Secretary position is a one-year position. CA-1s and CA-2s are eligible, as are CA-3s pursuing a fellowship.

Candidates should submit an application along with a personal/platform statement and curriculum vitae (as a Word document), which can be e-mailed to: residentcomponent@asahq.org or snail mailed to ASA, Attention: Resident Component, 520 N. Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573. The Junior Co-Editor must also submit a 500- to 700-word writing sample on a topic of his or her choice. These materials are due September 13, 2013, to be included in the annual meeting Handbook for Delegates. In addition, a strong letter of support from the candidate’s residency program director should accompany these documents. The program director’s letter should clearly state that the resident will have ample protected time to prepare for and attend all of the meetings and perform the responsibilities of each respective office. The duties and requirements are listed in the ASA Resident Component Bylaws found at www.asahq.org/asarc/constitution.html. Resident candidates are encouraged to contact current officers to discuss the duties and responsibilities and to ask any questions. A list of current officers and contact information can be found on the ASARC website at www.asahq.org/asarc/governing.html.

Residents interested in representing their state in the Resident Component House of Delegates should contact their state societies to determine the process for being elected or appointed to the Resident Component House of Delegates.

Nominations Sought for Media Award
ASA members have appeared in countless broadcast, online and print media placements over the past year. To recognize these placements, the Philip S. Weintraub Media Award is presented each year to members of the press who have effectively educated the public about the specialty of anesthesiology.

The Committee on Communications is now accepting entries for the 2013 media award. ASA members are encouraged to nominate local or national media placements from broadcast (television or radio), online and print (newspaper or magazine) outlets.

Last year’s winners include:

  • Courtney Humphries from MIT Technology Review for her January/February 2012 feature article “The Mystery Behind Anesthesia.”
  • Benita Zahn, M.S. at WNYT News Channel 13 for her March 29, 2012 segment “Anesthesia Shortages.”
  • Katherine Harmon of Scientific American for her October 3, 2012 article “What Is Propofol – and How Could It Have Killed Michael Jackson?”

  • The 2013 Philip S. Weintraub Media Award recipients will receive a plaque presented at the ANESTHESIOLOGY™ 2013 annual meeting on October 13, 2013 in San Francisco.

    The deadline for all nominations that aired or were published between October 1, 2012 and September 1, 2013 is September 9, 2013. All entries should be sent to the ASA Chair of the Committee on Communications, John F. Dombrowski, M.D., at communications@asahq.org or 520 N. Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, IL 60068-2573.