American Society of Anesthesiologists recognizes Michael M. Todd, M.D., with its Excellence in Research Award - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

American Society of Anesthesiologists recognizes Michael M. Todd, M.D., with its Excellence in Research Award

CHICAGO –The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) today presented Michael M. Todd, M.D., with its 2016 Excellence in Research Award in recognition of his outstanding research achievements in neuro-anesthesiology and neuroscience. Dr. Todd’s research has led to major scientific advances in anesthesiology and he is known for his work investigating the validity of inducing hypothermia in patients undergoing brain surgery. 

Dr. Todd is vice-chair of research in the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Minnesota. Previously, he served as chair and department executive officer of the Department of Anesthesia and professor of anesthesia at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. 

As an academic anesthesiologist and clinical investigator, Dr. Todd has advanced patient care through scientific inquiry both individually and as an inspiring research mentor. He was the principal investigator of the multicenter National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded Induced Hypothermia for Aneurysm Surgery Trial (IHAST) research. The much needed study proved there is no benefit from induced mild hypothermia in patients undergoing cerebral aneurysm clipping surgery. The IHAST investigation was so exemplary that, according to the NIH, it changed expectations for study completion rates and is the model for how large-scale clinical trials should be conducted. 

Dr. Todd has spent his entire career challenging common beliefs and replacing them with improvements based on empirical data. At the University of Iowa, Dr. Todd, along with David S. Warner, M.D., established and directed an NIH-funded neuro-anesthesiology laboratory that became pre-eminent in the field. Notably, his research discovered that the clinical practice of fluid restriction in patients with brain injury is unneeded and potentially dangerous. Consequently, the widespread practice of fluid restriction was largely abandoned worldwide. 

“I am honored to present Dr. Todd, an exceptional neuro-anesthesiologist, researcher and teacher, with the Excellence in Research Award,” said ASA President Daniel J. Cole, M.D.  “Dr. Todd’s dedication to enhancing our specialty has improved the perioperative experience for countless patients, and his passion for scientific investigation and mentoring new investigators should be applauded.”

Dr. Todd received his medical degree from the University of Chicago and completed his anesthesiology residency at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, where he was chief resident and research fellow. Dr. Todd continued his research in neuro-anesthesia at the University of California San Diego School of Medicine.

Dr. Todd is actively involved in numerous professional associations.  He is a member of the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care, International Anesthesia Research Society, and Association of University Anesthesiologists, among other organizations. Dr. Todd’s editorial accomplishments include editor of Anesthesiology, the official medical journal of the ASA and the most widely circulated journal in the specialty worldwide, from 1989-1996, and editor-in-chief from 1996-2006.

Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 52,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care every patient deserves. 
For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit Join the ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2016 social conversation today. Like ASA on Facebook, follow ASALifeline on Twitter and use the hashtag #ANES16.

# # #
< Back to

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More