FAER Committees are composed of dedicated volunteer members who are anesthesiologists and other professionals who are committed to advancing innovation and scientific discovery in our specialty.

Development Committee

FAER is working to ensure that research and innovation remain the bedrock foundation of our specialty. We are pursuing many research and education funding opportunities. Our Development Committee is the leader in these efforts. The volunteer members of the FAER Development Committee join members of the FAER Board to share ideas and advocate for the Foundation to their peers.

Richard Urman, MD, MBA, FASA
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Nikki Zapol, JD
Partners Healthcare
Steven J. Barker, MD, PhD, FACA
Richard P. Dutton, MD, MBA, FASA
U.S. Anesthesia Partners
Thomas J. Ebert, MD, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Pamela Flood, MD
Stanford University Medical Center
Julie K. Freed, MD, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Simon Gelman, MD, PhD
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Eric Heinz, MD, PhD
George Washington University
Muhammad Salman Janjua, MBBS
Yale University
Robert Maniker, MD
Columbia University
Linda J. Mason, MD, FASA
Loma Linda University
Cyrus D. Mintz, MD 
Johns Hopkins University
Steven Shafer, MD
Stanford University Medical Center
Paloma Toledo, MD, MPH 
Northwestern Medicine
Megha Vipani
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Dora Westphal
Fresenius Kabi Deutschland
Martin Westphal, MD, PhD
Fresenius Kabi Deutschland


Finance Committee

The FAER Finance Committee is responsible for ensuring FAER maintains a sustainable business model and that success of grants can be quantified. Most importantly, the Finance Committee ensures that FAER can continue providing funding to early investigators for anesthesiology research.

Michael W. Champeau, MD, FASA
Associated Anesthesiologists Medical Group
Donald E. Arnold, MD, FASA
Mercy Hospital St. Louis
Rebecca A. Aslakson, MD, PhD, FAAHPM, FCCM
Stanford University Medical Center
James C. Eisenach, MD
Wake Forest University
FAER President
Harriet W. Hopf, MD, FASA
University of Utah
Board Chair
Zeev Kain, MD, MBA
University of California Irvine
Andrew Rosenberg, MD, FASA
NYU School of Medicine 


Grants Management Committee

The FAER Grants Management Committee is responsible for evaluating and recommending incoming grantees for funding.

Dolores Njoku, MD 
Johns Hopkins University
Charles W. Emala, MD, MS
Columbia University
Roderic G. Eckenhoff, MD
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Roger A. Johns, MD, PhD, MHS
Johns Hopkins University
Board Chair-Elect
Daniel I. Sessler, MD
Cleveland Clinic
Monica S. Vavilala, MD
University of Washington