FAER Leadership

The Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) would like to express our gratitude to those who have held key leadership positions throughout the history of our foundation. The guidance, support, and dedication of these exemplary anesthesiologists has proven instrumental in pursuing our mission to develop the next generation of physician-investigators.

Past presidents of FAER are arranged below the Board of Directors table.

View FAER Committees and their Members 

Board of Directors

FAER Board 2022 Group Photo

Johns, Roger

Roger A. Johns, MD, MHS, PhD
Johns Hopkins University
Board Chair

Arnold, Donald

Donald  E. Arnold, MD, FASA
Mercy Hospital St. Louis
Finance Committee Chair

Aslakson, Rebecca

Rebecca A. Aslakson, MD, PhD,
University of Vermont

Chad Brummett

Chad M. Brummett, MD
University of Michigan Medical School
Pipeline Committee Chair

Roderic Eckenhoff

Roderic G. Eckenhoff, MD
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

James Eisenach

James C. Eisenach, MD
Wake Forest University
FAER President

Charles Emala

Charles W. Emala Sr., MD, MS
Columbia University
Grants Management Committee Chair

Gropper, Michael

Michael A. Gropper, MD, PhD
UCSF School of Medicine

Hemmings, Hugh

Hugh C. Hemmings Jr., MD, PhD, FRCA
Weill Cornell Medicine
MRTG Program Committee Chair

Jevtovic-Todorovic, Vesna

Vesna Jevtovic-Todorovic, MD, PhD
University of Colorado Medicine

Joe Kiani
Founder, Chairman, CEO, Masimo

Lane-Fall, Meghan

Meghan Lane-Fall, MD, MSHP
University of Pennsylvania

Lien, Cynthia

Cynthia A. Lien, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Martin, David

David P. Martin, MD, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Dolores Njoku

Dolores Njoku, MD
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
Board Chair-Elect

Pian-Smith, May

May C. Pian-Smith, MD, MS
Massachusetts General Hospital

Steven Shafer

Steven Shafer, MD
Stanford University Medical Center


Past Presidents

Joy L. Hawkins, MD, FASA
2015 – 2016

Denham S. Ward, MD, PhD
2011 – 2015

Alan D. Sessler, MD, FACA, FCAI, FRCA
2003 – 2010

Myer H. Rosenthal, MD, FACA
2001 – 2002

Carl C. Hug Jr., MD, PhD, FACA, FANZCA, FRCA
1999 – 2001

Francis M. James III, MD, FACA
1996 – 1998

William D. Owens, MD, FACA, FASA

Patricia A. Kapur, MD

Donald R. Stanski, MD, FRCPC

Alan D. Sessler, MD, FACA, FCAI, FRCA
1990 – 1992

William K. Hamilton, MD, FANZCA, FRCA
1986 – 1989

Curated by: BH

Last updated by: BH

Date of last update: May 18, 2023