FAER Thanks Departing Board Members and Welcomes New Members

December 14, 2022

ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2022 saw the conclusion of two members’ terms on FAER’s Board of Directors: Andrew Rosenberg, MD, FASA, of the NYU School of Medicine, and Daniel I. Sessler, MD, of the Cleveland Clinic. Both Dr. Sessler and Dr. Rosenberg contributed greatly to FAER and, by extension, all anesthesiology during their time on the Board.

Dr. Andrew Rosenberg     Dr. Daniel Sessler

Dr. Rosenberg joined the Board in 2018 and served on the Finance Committee throughout his tenure. Dr. Sessler joined the Board in 2014 and during his tenure served on both the Grants Management and Nominations Committees. In late 2020, Dr. Sessler also made the initial pledge that served as the basis for the Step Up for FAER matching gift challenge, matching up to $100,000 a year 1:1 and going towards the long-term goal of establishing a new, endowed Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) for clinical investigators. Please join FAER in thanking Drs. Rosenberg and Sessler for their years of service on the FAER Board of Directors.

As we thank Drs. Rosenberg and Sessler for their contributions, FAER is also excited to welcome three new members to the Board.

Dr. Hugh Hemmings     Dr. Vesna Jevtovic-Todorovic     Dr. David Martin

FAER looks forward to Drs. Hemmings, Jevtovic-Todorovic, and Martin contributing their insights and expertise to the Foundation’s efforts in the coming years.

“Over their time on the Board, both Drs. Rosenberg and Sessler have proven true assets to FAER, leveraging their knowledge and experience to help guide our efforts toward the very best outcomes. While I’m sorry to see their time on the Board end, it has been my absolute pleasure to work alongside them. They are leaving the Board in good hands too, as we welcome Drs. Hemmings, Jevtovic-Todorovic, and Martin to our cohort. It’s inspiring to have the opportunity to collaborate with so many like-minded leaders dedicated to the future of our specialty. I look forward to the work we will accomplish together in the coming years.”
 - Roger Johns, MD, MHS, PhD, FAER Board Chair

Please join us in thanking Drs. Rosenberg and Sessler for their contributions and service, and welcoming Drs. Hemmings, Jevtovic-Todorovic, and Martin to the FAER Board of Directors.

Visit the FAER Board of Directors page for a full list of current Board members.

FAER is a related organization of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA). For over 35 years, FAER has been dedicated to developing the next generation of physician-investigators in anesthesiology. Charitable contributions and support to FAER help fuel the future of anesthesiology through scientific discovery. Funding priorities include: Research, Education, and Training. At the time of this article's publication, FAER has awarded more than $53 million in research grants and programs since 1986. To donate to FAER, visit FAER.org/donate.

Curated by: BH

Last updated by: BH

Date of last update: December 13, 2022