Welcoming FAER’s Newest Board Members and Thanking Those Departing

December 13, 2023

Dr. Johns and Dr. Njoku PhotoThe terms of multiple members of the FAER Board of Directors, including Chair Dr. Roger Johns, concluded at ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2023. As Chair from 2022 to 2023, Dr. Johns contributed greatly to FAER’s success, assisting with the creation of the annual Friend of FAER Honor, overseeing the implementation of a new five-year strategic plan and a nearly $1 million budget increase for grant funding, and helping facilitate the establishment of both the SOAP-FAER Mentored Research Training Grant and FAER NAM Fellowship.

Johns, Roger Headshot

“It has been my honor to serve as Chair of the FAER Board of Directors. The significant importance of FAER’s mission attracts some of the brightest minds in anesthesiology research, and it was a true pleasure to work alongside such an exceptional cohort of leaders to support anesthesiology’s early career investigators. 

“On that note, I would be remiss in not acknowledging the incredible anesthesia scientists who have passed through FAER’s doors during my term. Whether as medical students taking their first steps on their research journey, residents growing within the field, or early career faculty working to make the leap to federal funding, it is inspiring to see so many talented individuals lending their scientific acumen to the future of our specialty. To them, I express my deepest gratitude.

“I consider my time as Chair a gift, and know that Dr. Njoku will find the role similarly rewarding. I look forward to seeing FAER continue to thrive under her leadership and hope you will join me in welcoming and celebrating her as FAER’s new Board Chair.”
- Roger A. Johns, MD, MHS, PhD; Immediate Past Chair, FAER Board of Directors

Along with Dr. Johns, the terms of the following board members also concluded:

Arnold, Don Headshot  Hopf, Harriet Headshot  Kiani, Joe Headshot  Shafer, Steven Headshot

Dr. Hopf began her time on the Board in 2013, Dr. Shafer in 2017, Dr. Arnold in 2020, and Mr. Kiani in 2021. Dr. Hopf shared her leadership and insights on numerous FAER committees, contributed extensively to the Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship (MSARF), and served as Board Chair from 2020 to 2021. Dr. Shafer offered his talents to FAER’s fundraising efforts, serving as Chair of the Development Committee from 2018 through 2020. Dr. Arnold helped ensure FAER’s fiscal responsibility and success as Chair of Finance Committee and Treasurer in 2022 and 2023, before stepping down in preparation for his role as President Elect of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA). Mr. Kiani provided his expertise as founder and CEO of Masimo to assist FAER’s work to source expanded corporate support.

FAER would like to express its heartfelt thanks to Dr. Johns, Dr. Arnold, Dr. Hopf, Mr. Kiani, and Dr. Shafer for all they have done for FAER. We look forward to hearing of their continued success in the future. While his time as Board Chair has ended, Dr. Johns will continue to serve as a non-voting member of the Board as well as Chair of the Nominations Committee.

FAER joins Dr. Roger Johns in welcoming his successor, Dr. Dolores Njoku, as the Foundation’s new Board Chair. The recipient of a FAER New Investigator Award in 1999 and a Board member since 2014, Dr. Njoku’s time on the Board has seen her serve as Vice Chair of the Programs Committee from 2017 to 2018 and Chair of the Grants Management Committee from 2018 to 2022. Compounding her service to FAER, Dr. Njoku has also served in multiple leadership roles in academic anesthesiology and societies. These roles include, among others: Director of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine’s Fellowship in Pediatric Anesthesiology from 2007 to 2018; Secretary of the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) from 2020 to 2022 and subsequently AUA’s President Elect beginning in 2022; Vice Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and Division Chief of Pediatric Anesthesiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and Anesthesiologist-in-Chief at St. Louis Children’s Hospital (SLCH) beginning in 2021; and Chair-Elect of the Children’s Medical Executive Committee beginning in 2023.

Njoku, Dolores Headshot"FAER’s work to equip anesthesiology’s early career researchers with the tools and knowledge to flourish as independent investigators is truly superb. As a past grantee myself, I can personally attest to the remarkable impact this early career support can have on one’s growth. As Chair of the Grants Management Committee, it was a joy to help implement FAER funding for the future superstars of anesthesiology research. While I’ve passed that torch to the Dr. Chas Emala, I’m delighted to step into my new role as Board Chair, including all the excitement and challenges that accompany it.

“I’d like to thank Dr. Johns for his outstanding leadership as Chair, along with Drs. Don Arnold, Harriet Hopf, and Steve Shafer, as well as Mr. Joe Kiani, for their contributions to FAER’s success. At the same time, I’m excited to welcome Drs. Gunisha Kaur, Crystal Wright, and Zhiyi Zuo to the Board. I know the Foundation will benefit tremendously from their knowledge and experience. I look forward to working alongside them and all FAER’s magnificent leaders to help shape the future of the Foundation and the support we offer.”
- Dolores B. Njoku, MD; Chair, FAER Board of Directors

Alongside Dr. Njoku as Chair, FAER is similarly excited to welcome the three newest members of the Board:

Kaur, Gunisha Headshot  Wright, Crystal Headshot  Zuo, Zhiyi

The expertise Drs. Kaur, Wright, and Zuo bring will prove a valuable boon to the Foundation’s work. FAER thanks them for their support and commitment to the future of anesthesiology research. Along with joining the Board, Dr. Wright also succeeded Dr. Arnold as FAER Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair.

Visit the FAER Board of Directors page for a full list of current Board members.

Finally, as 2023 draws to a close, we hope you will include FAER as you plan your year-end giving. Your gift will substantially impact research in anesthesiology by helping increase the number of individuals on the pathway to this important and rewarding career. Donate today at FAER.org/Donate.

FAER is a related organization of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA). For over 35 years, FAER has been dedicated to developing the next generation of physician-investigators in anesthesiology. Charitable contributions and support to FAER help fuel the future of anesthesiology through scientific discovery. Funding priorities include: Research, Education, and Training. At the time of this article's publication, FAER has awarded more than $56 million in research grants and programs since 1986. To donate to FAER, visit FAER.org/donate.

Curated by: BH

Last updated by: BH

Date of last update: December 13, 2023