Step Up for FAER Banner

A $100,000 matching gift challenge has been issued! See your donation's impact double by donating today!

All donations will help to achieve a long-term goal of establishing a new, endowed MRTG for clinical investigators, named the Drs. Ximena and Daniel Sessler Mentored Research Training Grant. Each individual donor will be acknowledged in the overall list of FAER donors, as well as the list of donors contributing to this new fund.

To donate to this matching gift challenge, select Step Up for FAER under the Donate Now section of FAER's online donation page.

Please note that FAER has transitioned to a new Donate page, hosted by Bloomerang! Click the button below to securely make your Step Up for FAER donation.


Like any specialty, research is fundamental to the future of anesthesiology. Research that often might not be possible without ensuring that early career investigators have the support and guidance they need to build their skills and preliminary data for subsequent grant applications. This sentiment sits at the very core of FAER's efforts to develop the next generation of physician-scientists in anesthesiology.

Drs. Ximena and Daniel Sessler, inspired by the importance of FAER's mission, have issued a $100,000 matching gift challenge to FAER, titled Step Up for FAER. Their hope is that by stepping up themselves with such a generous gift, others will in turn be inspired to step up their support to FAER as well. Your contribution will be matched 1:1 up to $100,000, and will help establish a named endowed Mentored Research Training Grant (MRTG) focused on clinical investigators.

“Anesthesiology's rising stature is based on two foundational principles: enhancing the scientific base that underpins the care of our patients and educating the future generations of practitioners who will continue to advance the science and practice of our discipline. At the heart of these advances lies FAER which is devoted to these missions. All of us have been touched directly by FAER, or indirectly through research and career development it has provided for so many aspiring academic anesthesiologists.” Daniel I. Sessler, MD


Thank you for stepping up and donating to help meet this matching gift challenge! To follow is a list of donors to this matching gift challenge.

We would also like to express a special thank you to all first-time donors to FAER, noted with an * below.

Aalok Agarwala, MD, MBA, FASA*
Alya Ali, MD*
Paul Allen, MD, PHD
Rafi Avitsian, MD, FASA
Alicia B. Barclay, MD*
Karsten Bartels, MD, MBA, PhD*
Victor C. Baum, MD
Karl E. Becker, MD, MBA, FACA, and Gail Becker
Victoria Bedell, MD*
Robert F. Bedford, MD, FACA
Honorio T. Benzon, MD, FACA
Frederic T. Billings IV, MD
Michael L. Bottcher, MD, FASA*
Charles D. Boucek, FACA, MD, FASA*
David M. Chelnick, BS*
Catherine L. Chen, MD
Craig Chen, MD
Frederick W. Cheney, MD, FACA
Jianguo Cheng, MD
David J. Clark, MD
Douglas A. Colquhoun, MPH, MSc, MBChB*
Lois A. Connolly, MD, FASA
Paul H. Cooke, MD*
Joseph Cotten, MD
C. Michael M Crowder, MD, PhD
Deborah J. Culley, MD
Sara Curtis
Joseph Dominguez, MD, FASA*
Karen Domino, MD, MPH
Michael Duan, MD*
Andra Duncan, MD, MS, FASE
James C. Eisenach, MD
Envision Healthcare
Nauder Faraday, MD*
Peter R. Fletcher, MD
Marcelo Gama de Abreu, MD
Syeda Zahra B. Gardezi, MD, MB, BS
Dr. and Mrs. James Gessner
Mariya A. Geube, MD
Laurent G. Glance, MD
Martin V. Grady, MD
Megan Graybill Anders, MD*
Andrew Greenberg, MD
Michael Gropper, MD, PhD
Harriet A. Hamer, MD
Alexander A. Hannenberg, MD, and Carol Hannenberg, MD
Jennifer M. Hargrave, DO, FASA
Bram Harris
Katherine W. Harter
Manal I. Hassan, MD, PhD
Stephen O. Heard, MD
Hugh C. Hemmings Jr, MD, PhD
Harriet W. Hopf, MD, FASA
Eric M. Humphreys, MD*
Francis M. James III, MD, FACA
Tatiana Jamroz, MD
Roger A. Johns, MD, PhD, MHS
Maurice Joyce, MD, MEd
Scott D. Kelley, MD
Scott Kercheville, MD, FAWM, FASA
Maureen Keshock, MD, MPH, FASA
Sandeep Khanna, MD, FASA
Michael Kinsky, MD*
Matthew Kremke, MBA
Andrea M. Kurz, MD
Ruthi Landau Cahana, MD
Meghan Lane-Fall, FCCM, MD, MSC
Grace Lim, MD, MSc
Mirjana Lovrincevic, MD
David Maguire, MD
Rajendra H. Majithia, MD
Elizabeth B. Malinzak, MD
Mariel Manlapaz, MD
Dorothea A. Markakis, MD
David Martin, MD, PhD, FASA, and Laura Martin
Kathryn E. McGoldrick, MD, FACA
Eddrice M. McMullan, MD*
Lee D. Meeder, MD*
Keith Miller, DPhil, PhD
Joseph Neal, MD
Mark Neuman, MD, MSC
Dolores Njoku, MD
Mark Norris, MD
Fredrick K. Orkin, MD, MBA
Pamela Palmer, MD, PHD
Kari Pantol
Jerome Parness, MD, PhD
Silvia E. Perez-Protto, MD
Mary Dale Peterson, MD, MSHCA, FACHE, FASA
Robert Pearce, MD, PHD
May C. Pian-Smith, MD, MS
Kane O. Pryor, MBBS
Alec Rooke, MD, PhD
James R. Rowbottom, MD
Kurt Ruetzler, MD
Lynn M. Rusy, MD*
Warren S. Sandberg, MD, PhD, and Elisabeth Hollister Sandberg, PhD
Katie J. Schenning, MD, MPH
Larry M. Segers, MD
Steven Shafer, MD, and Pamela Flood, MD
Nikolaos J. Skubas, MD, FASE
Ken Solt, MD
Roshni Sreedharan, MD, FASA
Stephen J. Thomas, MD, FACA, FANZCA, FRCA
Michael Todd, MD
Paloma Toledo, MD, MPH
Chuanyao Tong, MD
Carlos E. Trombetta, MD, FASA
Alparslan Turan, MD
Gregory Unruh, MD, FASA
U.S. Anesthesia Partners
Robert W. Vaughan, MD, FACA, and M. Sue Vaughan, PhD, RN
Christopher M. Viscomi, MD
Keith M. Vogt, MD, PhD
Joyce Wahr, MD
Christopher Ward, MD
Margaret R. Weglinski, MD
Lois Wetmore, DVM, MS
John Wills, MD, FANZCA
Cynthia A. Wong, MD
Hannah Wunsch, MD, MSc
Melville Q. Wyche Jr., MD, FACA

Back to Top. 

About the Sesslers

Sessler, Daniel

Valdes-Sessler, Ximena

Dr. Daniel Sessler is a longtime champion of anesthesiology research and developing those who conduct it. He is the Michael Cudahy Professor and Chair of the Department of OUTCOMES RESEARCH at the Cleveland Clinic.

Board certified in pediatrics and pediatric cardiology, Dr. Ximena Valdes Sessler is now retired and dedicates her time volunteering, including working as a docent at the Cleveland Museum of Art and tutoring at the Thomas Jefferson International Newcomers Academy.


Back to Top.


Curated by: BH

Last updated by: BH

Date of last update: August 8, 2023