Distinguished Service Award - American Society of Anesthesiologists

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is the highest tribute the Society can pay to an ASA member. It may be given for outstanding clinical, educational or scientific achievement, contribution to the specialty and/or exemplary service to the Society.

The House of Delegates has established policies governing the selection of a recipient. Procedures for the submission of nominations and selection of a candidate are as follows:

  • Any member of ASA or a component society may submit the names of individuals for consideration for this award.
  • No officer of ASA shall be eligible for selection.
  • Should the Committee on Distinguished Service Award select a candidate to enter into nomination in the House of Delegates, the name of the candidate shall not be disclosed until placed in nomination before the House of Delegates.
  • Final selection of the DSA recipient shall be made by the House of Delegates by secret ballot and shall require a two-thirds vote of those seated in the House of Delegates.

Nomination forms, together with current curriculum vitae, are requested to be received by the Governance Department in the Executive Office by May 15 each year.  They may be submitted to the attention of the committee chair. Please direct all nominations and questions to governance@asahq.org.

DSA Recipients
2017 Recipient: Jerry Cohen, M.D.

All Past Recipients (PDF)

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More