CMS finalized the MIPS Quality component to account for 60% of an eligible clinician's composite score in performance year 2017 (payment year 2019), 50% in performance year 2018 and 30% of the composite score every year thereafter. The MIPS Quality component replaces the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) for reporting purposes on January 1, 2017.

Anesthesiologists may elect to submit quality measures through any of the following mechanisms. Reporting specific measures is dependent upon the type of mechanism an eligible clinician or group practice chooses to report. 

  • Claims
  • Electronic Health Record (EHR) 
  • Qualified Registry
  • Qualified Clinical Data Registry (QCDR)
  • Web Interface (Group only)
  • CAHPS for MIPS (Group only)

Except for Web Interface and CAHPS for MIPS, physician anesthesiologists may use these reporting mechanisms to report quality measures either individually or as a group. Under MIPS, group practices of more than 100+ Eligible Professionals (under MACRA, known as "eligible clinicians") are no longer required to report a CAHPS survey. Reporting CAHPS for MIPS will count as one (1) of the six (6) required measures in the quality component category and groups reporting this measure would receive bonus points in reporting year 2017. Practices must use another reporting mechanism to submit its remaining five (5) measures.

Additional Quality component links:

Return to ASA MACRA Resources page