AARP/ASA Call to Action Submitters

On June 20 – 21, 2018, representatives from multiple perioperative stakeholder groups, including physicians and scientists met at the AARP Hatchery for the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) and AARP Summit with the long-term goal of promoting brain health before, during and after surgery. Based upon the meeting and discussions, the undersigned organizations have agreed to promote the following to patients, providers, hospitals, regulatory agencies and funders.

Thank you for taking action!

The participant information provided represents self-attestations from individual and institutional participants and is not edited or monitored by ASA.


  • Anesthesia Associates of Boise 
  • Antiguo Hospital Civil de Guadalajara
  • Beaumont
  • CUB Erasmus Hospital
  • Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto 
  • George Washington University Hospital
  • HonorHealth
  • Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
  • MedStar Health
  • Mount Sinai West
  • Tufts Medical Center
  • UMass Memorial Health
  • Uniformed Services University
  • University of São Paulo
  • University of Tennessee


  • American Academy of Anesthesiologists Assistants (AAAA) 
  • American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (AAPM&R)
  • Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF)
  • Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
  • National Quality Forum (NQF)
  • São Paulo State Anesthesia Society (SAESP)
  • The Gerontological Society of America


  • Houman Amirfarzan, MD
  • Konstantin Balonov, MD
  • Anna Barczewska-Hillel, MD
  • Steven Barker, PhD, MD, FACA
  • Patricia Cable, RN
  • Maria Carmona, MD, PhD
         University of São Paulo Medical School
  • Jacob Connell, MD
  •  Brian Henk, DO
  • Kirk Hogan, MD, JD
  • Stephe Holman, MD
  • Amy Hudson, CRNA
  • Drew Hunt
  • Pedro Ibarra, MD, MSc
  • Sharon Kim
  • Ralph Lydic, PhD
         Robert H. Cole Endowed Professor of Neuroscience
         Co-Director Anesthesiology Research
         Professor of Anesthesiology and Psychology
         Joint Faculty, Oak Ridge National Laboratory 
  • Jennifer Mattson
  • Joseph McBeain, CRNA
  • Claudia Memoria
         University of São Paulo
  • Federica Monaco
  • Beverley A. Orser, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FCAHS
         Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto
         Professor of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto
         Co-director of Research, Department of Anesthesia, Sunnybrook HSC
         Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences 
  • Pierre Pandin, Associate Professor
         CUB Erasmus Hospital
  • Marykay Pavol, PhD, ABPP
         Board Certified in Clinical Neuropsychology
         Assistant Professor of Clinical Neuropsychology
         Neurological Institute
         Columbia University Medical Center
  • Bruce Puryear, MD
         Patient Safety Officer, HonorHealth
  • Paul Richards
         Chairman Dept Anesthesia
  • Janeen Richins, MD
  • Regina Rodriguez-Arias
  • Gabriela Saba, MD
         University of São Paulo
  • Shaheen Shaikh, MD, FASA
         UMass Memorial Health
  • Katie Schenning, MD, MPH
  • Claudia Simoes, MD, PhD
  • Anita Vincent
  • Kathy Walsh, MD
  • Mark Warner, MD, President, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation
  • Zhongcong Xie, MD, PhD, FASA
         Henry Knowles Beecher Professor of Anesthesia
         Harvard Medical School
         Director, Geriatric Anesthesia Research Unit
         Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine
         Massachusetts General Hospital


Ready to take action and add your name to the list?

Sign up to agree to promote the AARP/ASA Perioperative Brain Health Initiative Call to Action to patients, providers, hospitals, regulatory agencies and funders.

Sign up

Download a PDF of the Call to Action

Attendee Summary
View the 2018 ASA/AARP Perioperative Brain Health Initiative Summit attendee summary.

Back to News