Global Scholars

Now its eighth year, the Global Scholars Program will provide support for young leaders in the specialty from low- and middle-lower income countries to participate in the ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2022 annual meeting in New Orleans, LA. The program provides an opportunity to support the professional development with fewer resources and the development of the medical specialty of anesthesiology overseas.

We are no longer accepting applications for the 2022 Global Scholars Program. We will begin accepting applications for the 2023 Global Scholars Program in February 2023.

The 2022 ASA Global Scholars Program in funded in part by a grant from Edwards Lifesciences Foundation, a not-for-profit charitable foundation affiliated with Edwards Lifesciences Corporation.

The 2019 ASA Global Scholars

Pictured from left at ANESTHESIOLOGY 2019 in Orlando, FL: Left to right: Dr. Mary Dale Peterson, ASA President; Dr. Jim West, ASACF Board Member; Dr. Steven Sween, ASACF President; Dr. Brian Vaughan, Volunteer, Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Center; Dr. Liz Drum, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; Dr. Angela Onyando, Kenya; Dr. Aaron Olurotimi, Nigeria; Dr. Gaston Nyirigira, Rwanda; Dr. Ana Cecilia Kuan, Nicaragua; Dr. Serge Mudipanu, Uganda.

2019 GHO Global Scholars

The 2018 ASA Global Scholars

Pictured from left at ANESTHESIOLOGY 2018 in San Francisco, CA: Dr. Steven L. Sween, ASA Charitable Foundation; Dr. Nathalie Mejeni, Cameroon; Dr. Vishal Krishna Pai, India; Dr. Françoise Nizeyimana, Rwanda; Dr. Petros Manyumwa, Zimbabwe; Dr. Maryrose Osazuwa, Nigeria.

2018 ASA Global Scholars

The 2018 ASACF Global Scholars are:
Mahder Baraki, Ethiopia
Fred Bulamba, Uganda
Maryrose Osazuwa, Nigeria

The 2018 Society for Pediatric Anesthesia (SPA) Scholars are:

Nathalie Mejeni, Cameroon
Petros Manyumwa, Zimbabwe
Françoise Nizeyimana, Rwanda

The 2018 World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA)-Masimo Scholars are:
Revathi Lokala, India
Nida Naaz Farooqui, India
Neha Kanojia, India
Umapradeepa Lakkaraju, India

We would also like to thank Boston Children’s, Seattle Children’s, Stanford University, University of California Davis, University of California San Francisco and Vanderbilt University who have supported to the program as well as hosting observership.

The 2017 ASA Global Scholars

Pictured from left at ANESTHESIOLOGY 2017 in Boston, MA: Alexander A. Hannenberg, M.D., ASA Charitable Foundation; Maryna Freigofer, M.D., Dnipro, Ukraine; Tsitsi Cimhundu-Sithole, M.B.B.S., M.D., Harare, Zimbabwe; Rohini Sigdel, M.B.B.S., M.D., Kaski, Nepal; Berend Mets, M.B., Ph.D., FRCA, Chair Committee on Global Humanitarian Outreach. Not pictured: Maria Echeto Cerrato, M.D., San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

GHO Global Scholars 2017

The 2016 ASA Global Scholars Program

The Global Scholars Program provided support for young leaders in the specialty from low- and middle-income countries to participate in the ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2016 annual meeting held in October in Chicago, IL.

Dr. Ion Chesov

Dr. Ion Chesov
Head of Anesthesia and Intensive Care Clinic
Chisinau City Hospital
Republic of Moldova

Dr. Stella Chikumbagje

Dr. Singatiya Stella Chikumbanje
Specialist Anaesthetist
Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital

Dr. Ninadini Shrestha

Dr. Ninadini Shrestha
Assistant Professor
Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital

Dr. Rediet Shimeles Workneh

Dr. Rediet Shimeles Workneh
Assistant Professor
Addis Ababa University

The 2015 ASA Global Scholars Program

The ANESTHESIOLOGY® 2015 annual meeting marked the launch of a new program designed to bring emerging leaders in anesthesiology from low-resource settings to our meeting. Participants will share their perspectives and be granted the opportunity to learn about the newest developments in the specialty and to build a network of international colleagues. These global scholars will be the educators, department chairs and national society presidents where anesthesiology, as a medical specialty, is in its infancy.

GHO Global Scholar Claudia Alvarez

Dr. Claudia Alvarez
Chief, Anesthesiology Department
Hospital Center of the El Progreso area
Yoro, Honduras.

GHO Global Scholar Natsagdorj Batgombo

Dr. Natsagdorj Batgombo
Intermed Hospital
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

GHO Global Scholar Christopher Chanda

Dr. Christopher Chanda
University Teaching Hospital
Lusaka, Zambia.

Learn more

Read the ASA monitor article written by Dr. Alexander A. Hannenberg about the Global Scholars Program.

ASA Global scholars attend Anesthesiology annual meeting